Backyard Chemist

First, who’s blogging?                                                                                                                      Second, why read it?                                                                                                                 Third, what is a backyard chemist?

Steve Dockendorf here.  Music composer and producer, educator, counselor.  Oh, and backyard chemist.  More on that later.

Residing in this body since 1951, I have been around long enough to observe some importances that may have otherwise escaped notice.  I believe that each of us has a unique viewpoint and something of value to offer.  If I can help you in any way, then this blog will have served its purpose.

Backyard Chemist is a term I coined to describe a being who creates things without having to ask permission.  “Backyard” implies do-it-yourself and “Chemist” stands for the creation of new things that could be of use.  For instance, I write music, play all the instruments, burn it onto CD or publish to iTunes.  Not too long ago people routinely made their own soap and their own bullets.  Now please don’t conclude that I am against outsourcing.  Where it makes sense to delegate, by all means, delegate.  I just like to know that I can take care of something myself if I need to.

So much for the introduction.  In the coming weeks I will be posting information and views that can stimulate your own creativity and independence.  Maybe you’re a backyard chemist, too.

To close this first brief post, I will relate something I read many years ago by a columnist named Martin Larson.  He stated that his mother advised him to arrange his life so that he had no need for the services of a doctor, a lawyer or a banker.  A tall order, yes.  But in my case, just grasping the thought that one might have the power to influence these factors gave me a level of hope and confidence that one would be hard pressed to find most anywhere else.

Steve Dockendorf, the Backyard Chemist

Hear my music at http://www.reverbnation.com/stevedockendorf

About Steve Dockendorf

Music composer and producer, educator, counselor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

