The Newsletter

This edition is about the art of newslettering. First rule is not to use an unusual or made-up word in the first sentence of your newsletter. (Save that for your blog.)

As you may know, I am engaged in blogging about my experiences with Ariel Hyatt’s book “Music Success in Nine Weeks.” http://www.musicsuccessinnineweeks.com
From the chapter’s description of benefits, it seems I should have started newslettering long ago. The main elements to include are some personal data (on you as a person), some professional data (what you are doing lately with your art or business) and finally a call to action.

My first edition is below. Please read on and let me know how you think I did. I’m interested in your feedback. And you, the reader of this blog, are welcome to also join the fan list.

Steve Dockendorf’s Newsletter

August, 2010

What’s the deal?

This monthly newsletter is intended for fans and you are receiving it as an invitation to check it out and become a fan. Reply with a request to join my fan list and I will award you a free mp3 of a song of your choice from my website http://www.stevedockendorf.com.

What to expect on the website?

A singer/songwriter specializing in positive American music with flavors of Pop, Rock, Country, and Other. You can stream or download the music and also check out some Polka, Reggae and Zydeco. You will be amazed that this whole range of music was created by one person. (I’m still getting used to it myself.) You can find interesting tidbits to share with your friends.

Feedback is always welcome.

I love to hear from my listeners. Here’s an example by Louise Rose from http://signs-of-spirit.com/content/inspiration

This is so funny in the best meaning of the word! I listened to just two songs from Steve D’s CD and I’m shaking my head with wonder at the similarity of one spirit’s feelings with another. I’ve always believed my feelings were so quirky that no one else could have them as strongly as I do. The two songs are, “I love my car”, and “Too much rain”.
All of my friends know my feelings about keeping “Baby”, my 1992 gas guzzling suburban which has carried our grown family of 5 plus friends over mountain passes, through hideous storms, and to ski slopes in complete safety and comfort. NOBODY disses Baby. And she’s not for sale. Enough said.
And about all that rain in Seattle, I was just today whining STRONGLY about it on Facebook. I got lots of sunny support from my CA family and friends.
At times like these I tend to wonder about that word, “coincidence’. Is there really such a thing?

Latest Happenings – Airplay, CD, Live Performances

I have a Country song on KIST FM. If you go to the link below and listen to the song, that will help it advance in the ratings. The song is I Made Love to an Angel. It’s a pretty much true story about how Marilyn (aka Mrs. Dockendorf) and I got hooked up. If you like the song, please tell your friends. That can really make a difference. http://www.kistfm.com/new2/artists/i/83067

Speaking of I Made Love to an Angel, it made the Top 100 for the year on http://www.musictampabay.com.

Some casual inquiries made by Marilyn resulted in airplay of my Polka songs, Gerolsteiner and Early Morning Polka on ten stations. Honk if you like Polka!

My CD Good Roads and Good Weather is now available to ship to your door or as a download. Retail locations for the CD are listed on the website.

Good Roads and Good Weather is now available on iTunes:
http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/good-roads-and-good-weather/id364918411

For the last year or so I have been hosting a monthly open mic called Arts Alive. It happens on the third Sunday of each month at Pangea Café, 34 N. Ft. Harrison Ave., Clearwater, FL. 6:00 – 8:30 PM. If you’re in the Tampa Bay area, drop by and get on the list to perform (we welcome artists of all types) or just sit back and enjoy some fine coffee with the many talented acts. It’s family-friendly and admission is free.

New this summer is my Intimate Concert series. I team up with some musical friends on the fourth Friday of each month. Sometimes you’ll hear Classical, sometimes Jazz, often spontaneous, but always something magical. Artists in Action Gallery, 617 Cleveland St., Clearwater, FL. 7:00 – 9:30 PM. Again, family-friendly and free admission.

I recently performed before some filmmakers. Plans are to resume writing music for themes and soundtracks. Stay tuned.

I want you to have a good time.

Don’t forget to reply and join my fan list for a complete experience. Your information is safe as I will never sell or give it to anyone. If for any reason you do not want to receive this newsletter, let me know and your email will be removed.

About Steve Dockendorf

Music composer and producer, educator, counselor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

